RSS Feed

Kony 2012

I first watched the video a couple of days ago. It had about 400,000 views, but I could tell that this was going to become big. The first thing that went through my mind after watching it was “We really have to do something about this.” I did a bit of research and saw that this Joseph Kony guy was real. But I still had my doubts.

I wasn’t going to give them my money just yet, but I decided I’d share the video on facebook. By the end of the day it already had millions of views, and people were posting it everywhere, tweeting about it, changing their facebook profile pictures to ‘STOP KONY’ and ‘KONY 2012’ pictures, and covering youtube videos with ‘Kony 2012’ comments and links to the video.

This video was making people go crazy. It was giving them the feeling that they had to act, making them feel like they had something to act for. People felt like they were a part of something. No wonder so many people got carried up in it so quickly.

But something felt a bit fishy to me… I wasn’t quite sure how to take all of this in. Suspicions started to arouse in other places too. People were expressing their doubt in the ‘Invisible Chlidren’, the group responsible for the video.

I’m still not sure how legitimate this whole thing is. I’m not about to give them my money, that’s for sure. Look at the slogan for a second:

Image

This may sound a bit too far-fetched, but this whole campaign kind of reminds me of Hitler’s.

“Stop at Nothing”. This slogan is suggesting that it’s ok to use violence as a means to achieve this goal, if nothing else works. It’s suggesting that we should do ANYTHING we can to convince as many people as possible that stopping Joseph Kony is the most important thing we need to do.

I can’t help but be reminded of ‘The Wave’.

It’s a book about a teacher who tried an expirement on his students: he created a kind of cult, a sort of movement, called The Wave. He convinced them that they had a goal and that they had to do everything and anything to achieve it. They ended up brainwashed and began to use violence against anyone who questioned the cause. They thought that they were acting for good, but really their cause was non-existant, and they were just blindly following the leader. (By the way, I highly reccomend it if you haven’t read it).

I do believe that stopping a criminal that has done such terrible deeds is an important cause, but I think we should at least question what we are so blindly and passionately supporting. This could be a real and legitimate thing, or a complete lie and a scam. It could also just be an exaggeration of something that does exist, but isn’t all that terrible as it is made to look.

Although the video does not suggest any violent solution, we are possibly being led like sheep towards that path. I believe that it’s ok to support the arrest of Joseph Kony, but not so exremely that it will brainwash you.

Let’s keep the battle for peace peaceful.

If you haven’t watched the video, this is it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4MnpzG5Sqc.

What do you think about Kony 2012?

About Maya Kind Of Writes

Hello! I'm Maya, and when I'm not procrastinating on the internet, going to school, or reading, I write.

One response »

  1. I’m with you. He’s committing horrible atrocities and must be stopped, but Invisible Children has been called in to question for their management of finances and methods.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

